Memories – Venice

Venice is another beautiful part of Europe that I saw in an absolute whirlwind and yet loved with my whole heart. I was lucky enough to spend my time in Venice with two gorgeous men who spoiled me silly and who generously helped add to the romantic vibe. 

Image

Venice feels romantic. I can’t say for sure whether it was Venice itself or all the stories associated with the island that encompassed me so fully, but I’m tempted to say it’s in the very air and architecture of the city. 

Image

Watching the Murano glass blowing and the Burano lace making demonstrations in the morning gave me an early appreciation for the work of the Venetian craftsmen and women. The blown glass, in jewel like colours and edged with gold, is luxurious and so fine I felt a breath of air could shatter it. The lace, elegant and delicate, inspired visions of traditional bridal trousseaux and christening gowns. I was completely fascinated by the Venetian masks in all of their varying shapes and colours and implications. The Carnevale di Venezia instantly makes in onto my Life List. 

Image

A walking tour explored the Piazza San Marco, Rialto Market and Grand Canal and started us off on Venice’s little lanes and gorgeous squares. The best way to see Venice is to wander, exploring where you will and occasionally get lost. We visited St Marks Basilica in it’s flooded state and the water lapping over the walkways just emphasised the damages of the rising sea levels and Venice’s state of elegant decay. 

Image

My fleeting visit to Venice ended in the most appropriate way with a gondola ride. Sitting back with a glass of champagne watching the city open up was perfect. 

Leave a Reply

