“To my mind, th…

“To my mind, the greatest reward and luxury of travel is to be able to experience everyday things as if for the first time, to be in a position in which almost nothing is so familiar it is taken for granted.” – Bill Bryson

I was researching story telling today and came across an article that made me think. Strangely enough, what was forced to mind was not story telling, it was travel, with this question in particular: Why do we travel? 

Is it because we have to or because we choose to? I know people travel for work, for pleasure, for business, for adventure, for romance, for knowledge, for relaxation. People use travel to escape their everyday lives or travel so much being a nomad is their lifestyle. I live with someone who travels extensively for work, arrives home and wants to be travelling again. I know my own reasons for travelling touch upon most of these, most of the time.

How many of these reasons combine when you travel? When someone asks, “Why do you travel?”, how do you answer the question? 

Leave a Reply

