Why we travel

I was talking to a very dear friend of mine and, of course, the subject naturally turned to travel. We were discussing work, both my current position and my future goals, when we stumbled into the need for ‘time out’. 

My current position means I’m 24 hours a day at work for 11 days with 3 days off. As these three days are always the same ‘days’ (Friday, Saturday, and Sunday) I can get a lot planned and completed, but it’s also pretty regimented. There is no jumping in a truck as it slides through town of an early evening, destination god knows where, to arrive home only at some unforeseen point in the future, no random drives, no spontaneity at all. Also, my current partner has interesting work habits and hours and is into a different style of travel than I am. 

Essentially, my travel style has changed significantly in the last two years and I’m not entirely sure I’m comfortable with it. 

Now, my friend is a bit older than I am, and he mentions ‘back in the day’ when he was racking up some massive hours at work he’d go bush (hunting, fishing, being at one with nature) for up to three months, just to ‘reset’. At the moment he’s planning a 3 month trek across Australia – an escape I’m rather envious of – and I realise how much more than just a holiday our travels are. 

Travel for me has always been an adventure, a chance to go somewhere different or try something new. It’s about being on the road (or in the air) and about having time to think. It’s about being a ‘more real’ version of me than I sometimes am in my day to day existence. My friend has made me realise it’s also a chance to relax, unwind, de-stress and recharge. Although not in a day spa kind of way. 

Why do you travel? 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

